Evaluation

At the beginning of the year everything we had to achieve seemed impossible to me and now I can’t believe I am now nearly at the end of my 3 years at university. Looking back over the past 8 months I have achieved so much and created a project and a set of images I am proud of. Creating a blog it has been great to create a log of our work and setting myself up for the future. I started off showing the first stages of my work and my ideas and this progressed into my final project and how I am planning stages for when finishing university.  Throughout this year and blogging my confidence grew and I was able to be proud of the work I have been posting. When creating my blog I tried to develop ways in which I could include interesting post’s about what I was completing outside of my major project for example getting my DBS form’s completed to volunteer and gain knowledge of what I want to carry out in the future.

When people or family ask about my current project’s it was so easy to have a blog I was constantly updating to be able to get it up on my phone and show my work. Having the app on my phone I had someone instant I could bring up and show. From starting the year I was determined to post more than once every single week. I have stuck to this and this is why my blog has progressed and shown a good understanding of my practice. The blog has helped define what my work is about and my style of photography.

In the past I have always been the one to step back and not to put myself out their as a photographer. I always shy away from showing my work or taking opportunities that come up. From university setting up a number of different talks from past students or photographer’s it was great to hear their stories and how they became to the position they’re in now. Everyone has to start somewhere even this is being someone’s assistant and just watching other people or being a free intern to companies. You have to gain your experience from somewhere. This is what encouraged me to go on and get my DBS forms completed and pursue to volunteer in a secondary school with GCSE photography. I really enjoyed this experience and it helped show my work and help others with the stages they’re at with photography. I never thought I would be good enough to encourage this but from finishing my degree I believe I am now.

From deciding to take a year out before perusing my teaching I will miss the constant contact we had at university for example always being able to get feedback on our work. Since 1st year we was constantly reminded that we shouldn’t take the university equipment and studios for granted but coming to the end this is very true. I will miss the atmosphere and constant opportunities we was given. From carrying out this module I feel far more prepared and confident to put my work out there in the professional world. I am excited to build up my experience from leaving university and prepare for the future.

Leave a Reply

